Jun 22, 2018  
2017-2018 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2017-2018 Shepherd University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar 2017-18


First Semester Fall 2017

August

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

  • Orientation Step 1|Payment for New First-Year Students

Thursday, August 24, 2017

  • Orientation Step 1|Payment for New Readmit/Transfer Students; Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies) via RAIL begins at 4 p.m.

Friday, August 25, 2017     

  • Orientation Step 2 for All New Students
  • New Student Convocation

Monday, August 28, 2017    

  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

September

Friday, September 1, 2017

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

Monday, September 4, 2017     

  • Labor Day Holiday

Friday, September 8, 2017

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, September 11, 2017 

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, September 18, 2017    

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status   

Friday, September 29, 2017        

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

October

Monday, October 9, 2017    

  • First Day of Midterm Exams 

Friday, October 13, 2017

  • Last Day of Midterm Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for May 2018 Graduation (Registrar's Office)

Monday, October 16, 2017    

  • Midterm Grades Due - 9 a.m.
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, October 17, 2017    

  • Midterm Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Thursday, October 19, 2017      

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Friday, October 20, 2017       

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Wednesday, October 25, 2017     

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2018

Friday, October 27, 2017        

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

November

Monday, November 6, 2017    

  • First Day of Spring 2018 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017     

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2018

Friday, November 17, 2017        

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, November 19, 2017 - Sunday, November 26, 2017   

  • Thanksgiving Recess

December

Friday, December 8, 2017

  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, December 11, 2017

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, December 15, 2017

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, December 18, 2017

  • First Semester Grades Due 9 a.m. - End of First Semester

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

 

Second Semester Spring 2018

January

Friday, January 5, 2018

  • Orientation Step 1 and 2 for All New Students; Faculty Report for Spring Semester
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies) via RAIL begins at 4 p.m.

Monday, January 8, 2018

  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

Friday, January 12, 2018

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor  

Monday, January 15, 2018

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday

Friday, January 19, 2018

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, January 22, 2018

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, January 29, 2018

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status

February

Friday, February 9, 2018

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, February 19, 2018

  • First Day of Midterm Exams

Friday, February 23, 2018

  • Last Day of Midterm Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for August and December 2018 Graduation (Registrar's Office)

Monday, February 26, 2018

  • Midterm Grades Due - 9 a.m.
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

  • Midterm Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

March

Friday, March 9, 2018

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, March 11-Sunday, March 18, 2018       

  • Spring Break

Monday, March 19, 2018

  • First Day of Summer 2018 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2018

Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

April

Monday, April 2, 2018

  • First Day of Fall 2018 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018

  • McMurran Scholars Convocation
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, April 23, 2018

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, April 27, 2018

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, April 30, 2018

  • Second Semester Grades Due 9 a.m.
  • End of Second Semester

May

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

Saturday, May 5, 2018

  • Commencement

Monday, May 28, 2018

  • Memorial Day