Jul 14, 2024  
2013-2014 Shepherd University Catalog 
2013-2014 Shepherd University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Expenses and Financial Assistance


Tuition and Fees


The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission regulations require the University to operate strictly on a cash basis with all payments and obligations being collected in advance. All tuition and fees must be collected in full for each semester on enrollment (registration) day.

The cashier will accept cash, money orders, or approved personal checks written for the exact amount of the obligation. All checks must be payable to Shepherd University and third-party checks will not be accepted. A returned check fee of $20 will be collected for each check returned unpaid by the bank upon which it is drawn, unless the drawer obtains an admission of error from the bank.

All student charges are payable at the time of registration for each semester. Students in debt to the University from a previous semester or term will not be permitted to enroll until all obligations are paid. Any outstanding and unpaid financial obligation to the University can result in withholding the student’s grades, transcript of credits, diploma, and official reports. Students will not be permitted to attend classes until registration has been completed.

If a student has borrowed a short-term loan or has had any other outstanding financial obligation with Shepherd University and has defaulted, i.e., his or her account has been referred to an attorney, the magistrate’s court, or a collection agent, the student will not be eligible to borrow short-term loans in the future.

Student employees will be required to pay tuition and fees at the same time as other students. The student employee will receive semi-monthly paychecks from the State of West Virginia for work performed during the previous month. All fees and expenses are subject to change without prior notice.

Enrollment Fees Per Semester 2013-14

 West Virginia Students Enrolled in a 4-year Program    
Hours Enrolled Enrollment Fee Hours Enrolled Enrollment Fee
12 Hours or more (full-time) 3,128.00 6 Hours 1,530.00
11 Hours 2,805.00 5 Hours 1,275.00
10 Hours 2,550.00 4 Hours 1,020.00
9 Hours 2,295.00 3 Hours 765.00
8 Hours 2,040.00 2 Hours 510.00
7 Hours 1,785.00 1 Hour 255.00
Out-of-State Students Enrolled in a 4-year Program    
12 Hours or more (full-time) 7,920.00 6 Hours 3,924.00
11 Hours 7,194.00 5 Hours 3,270.00
10 Hours 6,540.00 4 Hours 2,616.00
9 Hours 5,886.00 3 Hours 1,962.00
8 Hours 5,232.00 2 Hours 1,308.00
7 Hours 4,578.00 1 Hour 654.00

Rates are subject to change and approval of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission.

Audit Fees Per Semester

Enrollment fees for students enrolled in courses for audit (without credit) are the same as if credit were given.

Explanation as to Use of Enrollment Fees

  West Virginia Students (Full-Time Rate) Out-of-State Students (Full-Time Rate)
Tuition: Unrestricted to support education and general program services including, but not limited to, student activities, technology, and health center. $2,177.00 $6,494.00
Capital Fee: Restricted for statewide capital inprovement purposes by West Virginia Statute. 493.00 968.00
Equity Fee: Intercollegiate Athletic Equity Fee: Restricted to defray expenses associated with the institution’s compliance with Title IX. 73.00 73.00
Athletic Fee: Intercollegiate Athletic Fee: Restricted to defray expenses associated with the University’s intercollegiate athletic program. 202.00 202.00
Auxiliary Fee: Restricted to support auxiliary enterprises to include Wellness Center and Student Center. 183.00 183.00

$3,128.00 $7,920.00


Refund Policy


Students who withdraw in accordance with University procedures may receive a refund of tuition and fees in accordance with the schedules outlined below. The refund calculation is based on the amount paid toward tuition and fees. (No refunds on partial withdrawals.) Refunds are determined from the first day of the school term, which officially begins with orientation and registration days. The official withdrawal date is certified by the Registrar’s Office. Refund checks are issued through the State Treasury, and receipt of a refund may take up to six weeks depending upon the date of withdrawal.

Regular Session  
During first and second weeks 90%
During third and fourth weeks 70%
During fifth and sixth weeks 50%
Beginning with seventh week No Refund
Summer Terms  
During first and second class days 90%
During third and fourth class days 70%
During fifth and sixth class days 50%
Beginning seventh class day No Refund

Special Fees

Admissions Application Fee (undergraduate) $45
Admissions Deposit (non-refundable) $100
Applied Music Fee per credit hour $306
Archaeology Lab Fee $20
Art Studio Fee $45
CIS Lab Fee $30
Communication Course Fee $25
Diploma Replacement $20
Education Major Fee $40
Electronic Course fee (per credit hour) $25
Emergency Transcript $15
Family and Consumer Sciences Fee $40
Graduate Admissions Fee (non-refundable) $40
Graduate Posting Fee (continuing ed/per credit hour) $38
Graduation Fee $35
Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Sports Fee $37
History Course Fee (304 only) $75
I.D. Card Replacement $25
Late Payment Fee $25
Late Registration Fee (non-refundable) $25
MAT Transcript Analysis Fee $20
Music Lab Fee $30
Nursing Lab Fee $75
Nursing Program Fee $90
Orientation Fee (non-refundable) $75
Parking Fee $70
Physical Education Major Program Fee $20
RBA Posting Fee (per credit hour) $10
Recreation Major Program Fee $40
Regents B.A. Degree Evaluation $300
Return Check Handling Fee $20
Science Lab Fee $40
Special Examination (per credit hour) $25
Transcript (after first) $5
Math Course Fee  $30
Bowling Course Fee $45

FYEX Course Fee


Nursing Fee (senior year only) NCLEX Review



Reduced Tuition and Fee Program for West Virginia Residents who are at Least Sixty-five Years of Age

  1. To be eligible for this program the applicant must fill out the application/registration form completely and chose one of two options:
    • register under this program for all classes for credit.
    • register under this program for all classes for noncredit.
      (A student cannot mix these two options or mix this program with regular tuition course registration.)
  2. A student eligible for this plan may only register in the Office of the Registrar during the late registration add/drop period in a section with at least two openings at the time of registration and with the written consent of the department chair.
  3. The total tuition and standard fees for the credit option will be 50 percent of the normal rates charged to state residents by Shepherd University.
  4. The total tuition and standard fees for the noncredit option will be $12.50 per credit hour.
  5. Students under this plan will be expected to pay full charges for special fees, including laboratory fees, that are required of all other students. Such students are subject to regular parking rules and fees.
  6. No late fee will be charged.
  7. In lieu of a grade, an AU will be entered for courses in the noncredit option.
  8. Students may withdraw according to established dates.
  9. Must pay at time of registration (at the Cashier’s Office) to avoid being dropped for nonpayment.
  10. The standard refund policy applies, as do all other University policies not specifically addressed herein.
  11. All University academic policies apply.
  12. Students registered under this program cannot preregister for the next term.