Aug 17, 2019  
2019-2020 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2019-2020 Shepherd University Catalog

Academic Calendar 2019-2020


First Semester Fall 2019

August
Thursday, August 22, 2019
  • Orientation Step 1/Payment for New First-Year (Session E) and Readmit/Transfer Students (Session III)
  • Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4 p.m.
Friday, August 23, 2019
  • Orientation Step 2 for All New Students
  • New Student Convocation
Monday, August 26, 2019
  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor
Friday, August 30, 2019
  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m - Consult Advisor
September
Monday, September 2, 2019
  • Labor Day Holiday - University Closed
Friday, September 6, 2019
  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, September 9, 2019
  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status
Monday, September 16, 2019
  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status   
Friday, September 27, 2019
  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon
October
Monday, October 7, 2019
  • First Day of Midterm Exams 
Friday, October 11, 2019
  • Last Day of Midterm Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for May and August 2020 Graduation (Registrar's Office)
Monday, October 14, 2019
  • Midterm Grades Due - Second-half semester classes begin
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
  • Midterm Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)
Thursday, October 17, 2019
  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)
Friday, October 18, 2019
  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2020
Friday, October 25, 2019        
  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon
November
Monday, November 4, 2019
  • First Day of Spring 2020 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9 a.m - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2020
Friday, November 15, 2019
  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon
Sunday, November 24, 2019 - Sunday, December 1, 2019   
  • Thanksgiving Recess
December
Friday, December 6, 2019
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester
Monday, December 9, 2019
  • First Day of Final Exams
Friday, December 13, 2019
  • Last Day of Final Exams
Monday, December 16, 2019
  • First Semester Grades Due 9 a.m. - End of First Semester
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

Second Semester Spring 2020

January 
Friday, January 10, 2020
  • Orientation Step 1and 2 for All New Students; Faculty Report for Spring Semester
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4:00pm
Monday, January 13, 2020
  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor
Friday, January 17, 2020
  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor  
Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday - University Closed
Friday, January 24, 2020
  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL
Monday, January 27, 2020
  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status
February
Monday, February 3, 2020
  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status
Friday, February 14, 2020
  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon
Monday, February 24, 2020
  • First Day of Midterm Exams
Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Last Day of Midterm Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for December 2020 Graduation (Registrar's Office)
March
Monday, March 2, 2020
  • Mid‑term Grades Due - 9 a.m.
  • Second-half semester classes begin
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)
Friday, March 13, 2020
  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon
Sunday, March 15 - Sunday, March 22, 2020      
  • Spring Break
Monday, March 23, 2020
  • First Day of Summer 2020 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer and Fall 2020
April
Monday, April 6, 2020
  • First Day of Fall 2020 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer and Fall 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon
Friday, April 24, 2020
  • McMurran Scholars Convocation
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester
Monday, April 27, 2020
  • First Day of Final Exams
May
Friday, May 1, 2020
  • Last Day of Final Exams
Monday, May 4, 2020
  • Second Semester Grades Due 9 a.m.
  • End of Second Semester
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)
Saturday, May 9, 2020
  • Commencement
Monday, May 25, 2020       
  • Memorial Day - University Closed