Aug 21, 2018  
2016-2017 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2016-2017 Shepherd University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar 2016-17


 

Fall Semester 2016
Date Day Event
8/17/16 Wed Academic Advisement; Registration/Payment for New First-Year Students.
8/18/16 Thu Academic Advisement; Registration/Payment for New Readmit/Transfer Students; Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings.
8/19/16  Fri Orientation, Academic Advisement; Registration/Payment for All New Students.
8/19/16 Fri Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies) via RAIL begins at 5 p.m. (all hours except 4-8 a.m.).
8/19/16 Fri New Student Convocation.
8/22/16 Mon Classes Begin.
8/22/16 Mon Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Consult Advisor.
8/26/16  Fri Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Consult Advisor.
9/2/16  Fri Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL.
9/2/16  Fri Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status.
9/5/16 Mon Labor Day Holiday.
9/9/16 Fri Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status.
9/23/16  Fri Last Day to Withdraw from First-Half Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
10/3/16 Mon First Day of Midterm Exams.
10/7/16  Fri Last Day of Midterm Exams. Last Day to Apply for May 2017 Graduation (Registrar's Office).
10/10/16 Mon Midterm Grades Due at 9 a.m.; Second-Half Semester Classes Begin.
10/12/16 Wed Midterm Grades Available on RAIL (tentative).
10/13/16  Thu Fall Break (as needed, make-up days for inclement weather).
10/14/16  Fri Fall Break (as needed, make-up days for inclement weather).
10/19/16 Wed First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2017.
10/21/16  Fri Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
10/31/16  Mon First Day of Spring 2017 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
11/2/16 Wed Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2017.
11/18/16  Fri Last Day to Withdraw from Second-Half Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
11/20/16  Sun First Day of Thanksgiving Recess.
11/27/16  Sun Last Day of Thanksgiving Recess.
12/2/16  Fri Last Day of Classes; Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester.
12/5/16 Mon First Day of Final Exams.
12/9/16 Fri Last Day of Final Exams.
12/12/16 Mon First Semester Grades Due at 9 a.m. End of First Semester.
12/13/16  Tues Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative).

 

 

Spring Semester 2017
Date Day Event
1/04/17 Wed Academic Advisement; Registration/Payment for New First-Year Students.
1/05/17 Thu Academic Advisement, Registration/Payment for New Readmit/Transfer Students. Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies) via RAIL begins at 5 p.m.
1/06/17  Fri Orientation; Faculty Report for Spring Semester.
1/09/17  Mon Classes Begin.
1/09/17 Mon Add/Drop and Late Registration (late fee applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Consult Advisor.
1/13/17   Fri Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Consult Advisor.
1/16/17  Mon Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday.
1/20/17  Fri Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL.
1/23/17 Mon Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status.
1/30/17  Mon Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status.
2/10/17  Fri Last Day to Withdraw from First-Half Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
2/20/17 Mon First Day of Midterm Exams.
2/24/17  Fri Last Day of Midterm Exams; Last Day to Apply for August and December 2017 Graduation (Registrar's Office).
2/27/17 Mon Midterm Grades Due at 9 a.m.; Second-Half Semester Classes Begin.
3/1/17 Wed Midterm Grades Available on RAIL (tentative).
3/10/17 Fri Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
3/12/17  Sun First Day of Spring Recess.
3/19/17 Sun Last Day of Spring Recess.
3/20/17  Mon First Day of Summer 2017 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
3/22/17  Wed First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2017.
3/31/17 Fri Last Day to Withdraw from Second-Half Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon.
4/3/17  Mon First Day of Fall 2017 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
4/5/17  Wed Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2017.
4/13/17  Thu First Day of Spring Weekend Recess (as needed, make-up days for inclement weather).
4/14/17 Fri Second Day of Spring Weekend Recess (as needed, make-up days for inclement weather).
4/21/17 Fri McMurran Scholars Convocation; Last Day of Classes; Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester.
4/24/17 Mon First Day of Final Exams.
4/28/17 Fri Last Day of Final Exams.
5/1/17  Mon Second Semester Grades Due 9 a.m. End of Second Semester.
5/2/17 Tue Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative).
5/6/17 Sat Commencement.
5/29/17 Mon Memorial Day.