Apr 17, 2024  
2023-2024 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2023-2024 Shepherd University Catalog

Academic Calendar 2023-2024


Fall 2023

AUGUST

 

Thursday, August 17, 2023

  • Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4:00 pm

Friday, August 18, 2023    

  • New Student Convocation

Monday, August 21, 2023

  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

Friday, August 25, 2023

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

 

SEPTEMBER

Friday, September 1, 2023

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL
  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, September 4, 2023     Labor Day - Holiday - University Closed

Monday, September 11, 2023

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status   

Friday, September 22, 2023

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

OCTOBER

Monday, October 2, 2023

  • First Day of Mid-term Exams 

Friday, October 6, 2023

  • Last Day of Mid-Term Exams
  • Last Day to Apply Online for May and August 2024 Graduation

Monday, October 9, 2023

  • Mid-term Grades Due - 9:00 am
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, October 10, 2023

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Thursday, October 12, 2023

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Friday, October 13, 2023

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Friday, October 20, 2023

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2024

NOVEMBER

Monday, November 6, 2023

  • First Day of Spring 2024 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Wednesday, November 8, 2023

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2024

Friday, November 10, 2023

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, November 19, 2023 - Sunday, November 26, 2023    Thanksgiving Recess

 

DECEMBER

Friday, December 1, 2023

  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, December 4, 2023

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, December 8, 2023

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, December 11, 2023

  • First Semester Grades Due 9:00 am - End of First Semester

Tuesday, December 12, 2023

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

 

Spring 2024

January

Friday, January 5, 2024

  • Orientation Step 1and 2 for All New Students; Faculty Report for Spring Semester
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4:00pm

Monday, January 8, 2024

  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

Friday, January 12, 2024

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor  

Monday, January 15, 2024     Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Holiday

Friday, January 19, 2024

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, January 22, 2024

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, January 29, 2024

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status

February

Friday, February 9, 2024

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, February 19, 2024

  • First Day of Mid‑term Exams

Friday, February 23, 2024

  • Last Day of Mid-term Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for December 2024 Graduation (Registrar’s Office)

Monday, February 26, 2024

  • Mid‑term Grades Due - 9:00 am
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

March

Friday, March 8, 2024

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, March 10 - Sunday, March 17, 2024       Spring Break

Monday, March 18, 2024

  • First Day of Summer 2024 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9:00 am-4:00 pm.

Wednesday, March 27, 2024

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer/Fall 2024

April

Friday, April 5, 2024

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, April 8, 2024

  • First Day of Fall 2024 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9:00 am-4:00 pm.

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer/Fall 2024

Friday, April 19, 2024

  • McMurran Scholars Convocation
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, April 22, 2024

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, April 26, 2024

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, April 29, 2024

  • Second Semester Grades Due 9:00 am
  • End of Second Semester

Tuesday, April 30, 2024

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

May

Saturday, May 4, 2024

  • Commencement

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

  • Summer 2024 (Including Session A) begins

Monday, May 27, 2024        Memorial Day