May 23, 2022  
2021-2022 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2021-2022 Shepherd University Catalog

Academic Calendar 2021-2022


Fall Semester 2021

August

Thursday, August 19, 2021

  • Orientation Step 1/Payment for New First-Year and Readmit/Transfer Students

  • Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4 p.m.

Friday, August 20, 2021      

  • Orientation Step 2 for All New Students

  • New Student Convocation

Monday, August 23, 2021

  • Classes Begin

  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

Friday, August 27, 2021

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

Friday, September 3, 2021

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status
September

Monday, September 6, 2021    

  • Labor Day Holiday - University Closed

Monday, September 13, 2021

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status   

Friday, September 24, 2021

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

October

Monday, October 4, 2021

  • First Day of Mid‑term Exams 

Friday, October 8, 2021

  • Last Day of Mid-Term Exams

  • Last Day to Apply Online for May and August 2022 Graduation

Monday, October 11, 2021

  • Mid-term Grades Due - 9 a.m.

  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Thursday, October 14, 2021

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Friday, October 15, 2021

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2022

Friday, October 22, 2021         

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

November

Monday, November 1, 2021

  • First Day of Spring 2022 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, November 3, 2021

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2022

Friday, November 12, 2021

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, November 21, 2021 - Sunday, November 28, 2021    

  • Thanksgiving Recess
December

Friday, December 3, 2021

  • Last Day of Classes

  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, December 6, 2021

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, December 10, 2021

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, December 13, 2021

  • First Semester Grades Due 9 a.m. - End of First Semester

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

 

Spring Semester 2022

January 

Friday, January 7, 2022

  • Orientation Step 1and 2 for All New Students; Faculty Report for Spring Semester

  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4 p.m.

Monday, January 10, 2022

  • Classes Begin

  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor

Friday, January 14, 2022

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - Consult Advisor  

Monday, January 17, 2022

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Holiday

Friday, January 21, 2022

Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, January 24, 2022

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, January 31, 2022

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status

February

Friday, February 11, 2022

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, February 21, 2022

  • First Day of Mid‑term Exams

Friday, February 25, 2022

  • Last Day of Mid-term Exams

  • Last Day to Apply for December 2022 Graduation (Registrar’s Office)

Monday, February 28, 2022

  • Mid‑term Grades Due - 9 a.m.

  • Second-half semester classes begin
March

Tuesday, March 1, 2022

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Friday, March 11, 2022

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, March 13- Sunday, March 20, 2022      

  • Spring Break

Monday, March 21, 2022

  • First Day of Summer 2022 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, March 23, 2022

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer/Fall 2022
April

Monday, April 4, 2022

  • First Day of Fall 2022 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9 a..m.-4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Summer/Fall 2022

Friday, April 8, 2022

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Friday, April 22, 2022

  • McMurran Scholars Convocation
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, April 25, 2022

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, April 29, 2022

  • Last Day of Final Exams

May

Monday, May 2, 2022

  • Second Semester Grades Due 9 a.m.

  • End of Second Semester

Tuesday, May 3, 2022

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

Saturday, May 7, 2022

  • Commencement

Monday, May 30, 2022        

  • Memorial Day