Dec 15, 2018  
2018-2019 Shepherd University Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Shepherd University Catalog

Academic Calendar 2018-19


First Semester Fall 2018

August

Thursday, August 23, 2018

  • Orientation Step 1/Payment for New First-Year (Session E) and Readmit/Transfer Students (Session III); Faculty Report for Fall Semester; Faculty Meetings

  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4:00 pm

Friday, August 24, 2018      

  • Orientation Step 2 for All New Students

  • New Student Convocation

Monday, August 27, 2018

  • Classes Begin

  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

Friday, August 31, 2018

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

September

Monday, September 3, 2018    

  • Labor Day Holiday

Friday, September 7, 2018

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, September 10, 2018

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

Monday, September 17, 2018

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status   

Friday, September 28, 2018

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

October

Monday, October 8, 2018

  • First Day of Mid‑term Exams 

Friday, October 12, 2018

  • Last Day of Mid-Term Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for May and August 2019 Graduation (Registrar's Office)

Monday, October 15, 2018

  • Mid-term Grades Due - 9:00 am
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, October 16, 2018     

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Thursday, October 18, 2018

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Friday, October 19, 2018

  • Fall Break (OR make-up day for inclement weather, as needed)

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2019

Friday, October 26, 2018         

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

November

Monday, November 5, 2018     

  • First Day of Spring 2019 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students; 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Spring 2019

Friday, November 16, 2018         

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Sunday, November 18, 2018 - Sunday, November 25, 2018    

  • Thanksgiving Recess

December

Friday, December 7, 2018

  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, December 10, 2018

  • First Day of Final Exams

Friday, December 14, 2018

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, December 17, 2018

  • First Semester Grades Due 9:00 am - End of First Semester

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

Second Semester Spring 2019

January 

Friday, January 11, 2019

  • Orientation Step 1and 2 for All New Students; Faculty Report for Spring Semester
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies) via RAIL begins at 4:00pm

Monday, January 14, 2019

  • Classes Begin
  • Add/Drop and Late Registration (Late Fee Applies), via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor

Friday, January 18, 2019

  • Last Day to Add/Drop or Late Register via RAIL or at Ikenberry Hall, 9:00 am-4:00 pm - Consult Advisor  

Monday, January 21, 2019    

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Holiday

Friday, January 25, 2019

  • Last Day for Instructor-Approved Late Adds via RAIL

Monday, January 28, 2019

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Pass/Fail Status

February

Monday, February 4, 2019

  • Last Day to Change a Course from Credit to Audit Status

Friday, February 15, 2019

  • Last Day to Withdraw from first-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, February 25, 2019

  • First Day of Mid‑term Exams

March

Friday, March 1, 2019

  • Last Day of Mid-term Exams
  • Last Day to Apply for December 2019 Graduation (Registrar's Office)

Monday, March 4, 2019

  • Mid‑term Grades Due - 9:00 am
  • Second-half semester classes begin

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

  • Mid-term Grades Available on RAIL (tentative)

Sunday, March 10 - Sunday, March 17, 2019      

  • Spring Break

Friday, March 22, 2019

  • Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Class - See Advisor by Noon

Monday, March 25, 2019

  • First Day of Summer 2019 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9:00 am-4:00 pm.

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

  • First Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2019

April

Monday, April 8, 2019

  • First Day of Fall 2019 RAIL Registration for Continuing Students, 9:00 am-4:00 pm.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

  • Last Day of Academic Advisement for Continuing Students for Fall 2019

Friday, April 12, 2019

  • Last Day to Withdraw from second-half semester class - See Advisor by Noon

Friday, April 26, 2019

  • McMurran Scholars Convocation
  • Last Day of Classes
  • Last Day for Complete Withdrawal from Semester

Monday, April 29, 2019

  • First Day of Final Exams

May

Friday, May 3, 2019

  • Last Day of Final Exams

Monday, May 6, 2019

  • Second Semester Grades Due 9:00 am
  • End of Second Semester

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

  • Grades will be available via RAIL (tentative)

Saturday, May 11, 2019

  • Commencement